•  

    A Little Bit About Mrs. Ramshaw

     

    University/College Attended: UC Riverside; National University

    Degrees Earned: BA in Liberal Studies emphasizing in Sociology and Education; Master of Arts in Reading with a Reading Specialist credential


    Hometown: Corona, Ca


    Personal Bio:  I was born in Long Beach, Ca and lived in Huntington Park throughout my elementary school years.  I attended St. Matthias Elementary, which was only down the block from my house.  It was great because I was able to sleep in a little bit every morning and could go home every day for lunch.  My parents wanted me to be able to try a variety of different activities, so by the time I was in 6th grade I had participated in ballet, tap, piano, softball, and track.  It was during elementary school that I learned to really enjoy math and science. 

    At the end of 6th grade, my parents decided is was time to move.  My parents decided that Corona was the place for my two younger sisters and me.  In fact, my parents still live in the same house!  I attended Raney Intermediate and Corona High School where I played volleyball and softball and really grew to love Math.  I graduated in 1994 and went on to college at UC Riverside.

    When I first began my college career I majored in Environmental Engineering, but after taking a one unit education course I fell in love with the classroom and decided I wanted to become a teacher.  I completed my degree in four years and went straight into student teaching.  I student taught in Jurupa Unified and was hired to teach 5th grade at Jefferson Elementary in Corona the following year.  I taught at Jefferson for 10 years before transferring to Rosa Parks to teach a 5/6 combo.  During my 4 years at Rosa Parks, I taught 5th grade in addition to teaching the 5/6 combo class.  While at Jefferson, I taught 4th and 5th grade, was a demonstration teacher for CELL/ExLL, and was a Teacher on Special Assignment.  

    I married my husband, Chuck, in 2005.  We have two young children, Charlie and Sophia, and a black Goldendoodle, Pepper.  You can often find my family running around town to baseball, softball, ballet, or piano. With the little free time I have, I enjoy yoga, paddleboarding, gardening, playing Sudoku, going on walks with my family, camping, reading with a cup of hot tea or coffee, watching Chopped, and taking naps.


    The Department of Education seeks to have every teacher certified in the area in which they are teaching. If this criteria is met, the teacher is "Highly Qualified".  https://teachercred.ctc.ca.gov/teachers/PublicSearchProxy